Award Winning Songwriting (for kids!)

I don’t want to give myspace too much credit for hipping me to this news, but I did receive a message through that series of tubes that is pretty interesting. An old friend and former collegue Kristin Andreassen posted this:

I just found out that my song “Crayola Doesn’t Make a Color for Your Eyes” won the John Lennon Songwriting Contest!! It got first place in the Children’s Music Category for this half-year.

I now have a 50/50 chance of winning for all of 2006. It’s a competition between “Crayola” and the song that won for the first half of the year, and it’s decided by ON-LINE VOTING.

So I’ll let you know when and how to vote, okay? (What I know is that the voting is for two weeks starting March 15th).

And even if I don’t win for the whole year, I’m still pretty psyched and honored to win because this is a great competition with sweet prizes and lots of great entries.

Love to you all and thanks for the support…
Kristin

The short version is that I worked with Kristin in 1996 for the Centre for Community and Enterprise Networking (run by the NSERC/SSHRC Associate Chair in the Management of Technological Change at the University College of Cape Breton, which is now known as Cape Breton University). I was plucked from the Cape Breton Music Mailing List while I was going to school in PEI to help research and develop a “virtual music centre” for Cape Breton Music that resulted in Cape Breton Music Online. She is originally from Oregon and ended up in Sydney via Montreal and quickly immersed herself in the Island but didn’t begin her career in music until she left Cape Breton to join a dance troop several years later. Now, just imagine if I gave you the long version!

Published by

Boost Ventilator

Creator and applier of words, pictures, and videos since logging onto CompuServe in 1993. Natural collaborator and BS detector.

Leave a Reply

