Super-duper Bad

I know you to be a passionate admirer of Tommy Wiseau–the auteur who wrote, directed and starred in the shattering drama The Room. When did you first encounter his work?

Paul Rudd and David Wain had told me about something called The Room a few years ago. They had expressed the thought that it was their favorite movie. An executive at MTV also told me about it’ her name is Carrie Beck, and she was nice enough to send me a copy. I watched it at my parents’ house with my friends Max and Matt. I said, “Hey guys, I’ve got this movie that everyone says is fucking awesome,” and we put it on. It probably was the best two hours of my life.

What do you think makes the likes of Tommy Wiseau, William Hung or Ed Wood so funny?

I wouldn’t put all those in the same category. Wiseau clearly belongs on his own tier. He comes from a place where he thinks he’s like, Orson Welles, you know what I mean? There is no intentional sense of humor in his work, no irony. He takes himself completely seriously and comes from a place of pure heartbreak.

An excerpt from an interview with Superbad’s Jonah Hill from the August – September 2007 issue of Mean.

Published by

Boost Ventilator

Creator and applier of words, pictures, and videos since logging onto CompuServe in 1993. Natural collaborator and BS detector.

Leave a Reply

